January 2, 2018

Five C-Mass towns to receive $758K as green communities

Photo/State House News Service

Five Worcester County towns have will receive a total of $758,345 after achieving Green Communities designation by the Massachusetts Department of Energy Resources.

Douglas, Leicester, New Braintree, Webster and West Boylston are the state's newest environmentally-savvy towns and are eligible for competitive grants, according to the state and the Central Massachusetts Regional Planning Commission.

The towns were five of 25 new cities and towns that received the same designation, and join a growing list of 210 cities and towns that have received more than $80 million in grants.

Green Communities are required to allow renewable or alternative energy facilities, expedite permitting processes for such facilities, develop energy conservation plans, purchase only fuel-efficient municipal vehicles and adopt an energy efficient building code.


Type your comment here:

Today's Poll How much financial information does your company share with its employees?<>
Most Popular on Facebook
Copyright 2017 New England Business Media